ditch diggers


dhaka, bangladesh, portrait, photography
Behind the men working and on the other side of the road, there was a goat tied to that nice white fence, behind which was a very nice white house. I thought it was funny, so I took a picture. And, after doing so, the man said to me, “Would you like to take a picture of me and this ditch I am digging?”

Or something like that. Because clearly, he wasn’t digging the ditch. He was overseeing? I don’t know. Mike told me that the more western dressed folks didn’t like getting their picture taken as much as the more traditional dressed people. But this guy was clearly an exception. Then men who are digging are wearing lungis. Many, if not most, of the men I saw were donned this garment.

One Comment to “ditch diggers”

  1. I really like this photo, you’ve really captured a moment. I wonder what these people are up to now…

Leave a Reply

